Skip To Main Content

Schools

Translate

Washington Elementary School History

Washington Elementary School opened in 1901. It is named after George Washington, founding father and the first president of the United States. The yellow brick building on the corner of Main and Ashland is the original school; additions were built in 1953 and in 1967.

During the early 1900s, Washington and its neighborhood became a centerplace for foreign-born immigrants, many from Poland, who settled in the neighborhood to work at the nearby Clayton Mark & Co. and other industries. A Washington teacher, Miss Emma Gertrude White, hosted “Americanization” night classes (1911-1932) where immigrant families could learn to speak English and understand American History in order to become citizens. In 1929, Miss White, then principal, also began hosting Greek language night classes for Greek immigrants. In 2000, this tradition of multiculturalism and multilingualism continued when Washington became one of the first two District 65 schools to house a Two-Way Immersion (TWI) program for Spanish-speaking students, primarily Mexican-Americans. District 65 was the one of the first districts in Illinois to implement TWI as its bilingual education model. 

Washington 1905

Washington Elementary School 1905 (Evanston History Center).

Washington Greek school

Photo credit: Evanston History Center

The D65 School History project is the result of a partnership with Evanston History Center. This research was completed by the Evanston History Center with research contributions by Sofia Casler-Bustamante (ETHS class of 2027).

This information is intended to recognize the unique history of District 65 schools. Please note that this is not a comprehensive record.

School History

Interested in the history of other District 65 schools?

Haven Middle School was initially built to serve students from two school districts.

The predecessor to Park School was established in 1949 by a group of parents.